Since 1998, we have awarded an annual prize to the best scholarly work in Middle Eastern Studies. 


General Information

A prize or prizes will be awarded each year to the value of up to £10,000 for the best scholarly work in English on the Middle East which has been published in its first edition in the United Kingdom. We are now accepting submissions for books published during the calendar year 2018 and listed in Whitaker's Books in Print. The year will be taken as the copyright year listed within the book.  Particular consideration will be given to books of sound scholarship which enhance understanding of the Middle East among a wider readership in the English speaking world. Translations of work published in other modern languages are not eligible. 

The judges welcome entries on any aspect of Middle East studies. Normally the chronological remit of the prize will be from the rise of Islam until the present day, but outstanding scholarly entries from the pre-Islamic era may also be considered. 

The award of the prize is the sole responsibility of the judges, whose decision is final. If the judges so decide, the prize may be divided.

The patrons of the prize are HRH The Prince of Wales and Dr Sheikha Sou’ad Al Sabah. 

As Ambassador of the State of Kuwait I wish continuing success for the Prize and its contribution to mutual understanding and Scholarship.
— Khaled Abdulaziz Al-Duwaisan, GCVO, Ambassador of Kuwait, Dean of the Diplomatic Corps & Chairman of The British Kuwait Friendship Society


The criteria on which the judges' decision will be based will be: 

(i) Originality
(ii) Clarity and Accessibility
(iii) Importance to the field
The judges will also assess how well the book enhances the understanding of the subject matter to a wider audience. 

Collections of articles by several authors published in a single volume will not be considered.

Entries will be welcomed from the following fields: 

(i) Language and literature
(ii) Islamic Studies
(iii) Sociology, anthropology, history, politics, geography, economics and international relations
(iv) Islamic art and archaeology

BKFS Book Prize Brochure cover.jpg

Download our brochure, 'Celebrating 20 years', which gives more information about the Prize.